Our 25-ton GE industrial Diesel switcher was built in 1952 for Hartford Electric Light Co. It was donated to the Railroad Museum of New England in 2002 by Yankee Gas-Northeast Utilities. It is currently residing at Thomaston Shop and Yard on the Naugatuck Railroad, where it is destined to become our “shop goat.”
General Electric manufactured 510 of these unique small switchers betweeen 1941 and 1974. They are powered by a Cummins diesel engine, producing about 150hp. These small locomotives were often found inside industrial plants or at railroad shop complexes where they were used to move equipment from place to place without venturing out on the main line.